Built with Berta.me

  1. THEN HITLER INVADED AUSTRIA. VERTREIBUNG IN DIE SEHNSUCHT, 2015. With poems by Andrea Grill. Publication as temporary installation in the Museum ERLAUF ERINNERT (Lower Austria): At the end of a museum tour, 1,500 free copies of the book are piled up on a pallet for visitors. The intervention is completed once the last copy has been taken.  

    THEN HITLER INVADED AUSTRIA. VERTREIBUNG IN DIE SEHNSUCHT, 2015. With poems by Andrea Grill. Publication as temporary installation in the Museum ERLAUF ERINNERT (Lower Austria): At the end of a museum tour, 1,500 free copies of the book are piled up on a pallet for visitors. The intervention is completed once the last copy has been taken.

     

  2. Publisher
    Tatiana Lecomte on behalf of the Land of Lower Austria, Dept. for Art and Culture, Public Art

    Graphic design
    Büro Ferkl

    Poems
    Andrea Grill

    Copy editor
    Daniela Billner

    Translation
    Donna Stonecipher (Andrea Grill's poems)
    Lotte Lyon (German), Nick Somers (English)

    Image processing
    C.E.I.S.1 & [RIMAGE GENGI]2

    Format
    21 x 15 cm

    Printer
    Grasl FairPrint

    Edition
    1,500

  3.  

    In the night of May 8, 1945, Soviet General Dmitrii Drichkin and US General Stanley Reinhart met in Erlauf to celebrate the Allied victory and official end of the war in Europe at one minute after midnight. Almost twenty years after the historical meeting between the two generals, Ernst Brod and Frank Schanzer, two Jewish citizens from the Erlauf area who were forced to flee from the Nazis, revived the memory of these events in Erlauf with the help of a brochure from the US military. Shortly after, in 1965, the community celebrated its first annual commemoration event, which later evolved into the Days of Peace (Friedenstage), held every year. This also led to an intensive artistic engagement with history in public space that has continued to grow. In 1995, peace monuments by Jenny Holzer and Oleg Komov were erected in the city, and since then, many temporary public art projects have been realized, including Erlauf erinnert sich (Erlauf Remembers) (2000, 2002).

    For her art project celebrating the inauguration of the museum ERLAUF ERINNERT in 2015, the artist Tatiana Lecomte chose to focus on the lives of Ernst Brod and Frank Schanzer, two citizens from the Erlauf area who were forced to flee from the Nazis. Her research resulted in the book Then Hitler invaded Austria. Vertreibung in die Sehnsucht (Then Hitler Invaded Austria. Forced into Longing), of which 1,500 copies were presented in the museum exhibition. The books stacked on a pallet not only formed a temporary artwork; visitors were also encouraged to take a copy home with them as a “piece of memory.” As the number of copies dwindled, the pile of books changed in appearance, serving both as a dynamic, interactive sculpture as well as a kind of a memorial against forgetting.

    Matthäus Maier                                                                                                                Translation: Michelle Miles

Built with Berta.me

  1. THEN HITLER INVADED AUSTRIA. VERTREIBUNG IN DIE SEHNSUCHT, 2015. Mit Gedichten von Andrea Grill. Publikation als temporäre Installation im Museum ERLAUF ERINNERT (NÖ): 1.500 Bücher stehen am Ende des Museumsrundgangs auf einer Palette den BesucherInnen zur freien Entnahme zur Verfügung. Die Intervention endet wenn das letzte Buch den Ausstellungsraum verlässt.

    THEN HITLER INVADED AUSTRIA. VERTREIBUNG IN DIE SEHNSUCHT, 2015. Mit Gedichten von Andrea Grill. Publikation als temporäre Installation im Museum ERLAUF ERINNERT (NÖ): 1.500 Bücher stehen am Ende des Museumsrundgangs auf einer Palette den BesucherInnen zur freien Entnahme zur Verfügung. Die Intervention endet wenn das letzte Buch den Ausstellungsraum verlässt.

  2. In der Nacht vom 8. auf den 9. Mai 1945 trafen sich in Erlauf der sowjetische General Dmitri Dritschkin und der US-amerikanische General Stanley Reinhart und feierten gemeinsam den um 00:01 Uhr in Kraft tretenden Waffenstillstand. 20 Jahre nach dem historischen Treffen der Generäle brachten die jüdischen Emigranten Ernst Brod und Frank Schanzer die Erinnerung an die Ereignisse mit einer Broschüre der US-Division nach Erlauf zurück. Von 1965 an organisierte die Gemeinde zunächst alle zehn Jahre eine Gedenkfeier, aus denen später die jährlichen Friedenstage hervorgingen. Und schließlich entstand eine intensive künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte im öffentlichen Raum: 1995 wurden die Friedensdenkmäler von Jenny Holzer und Oleg Komov errichtet und in der Folge eine Reihe von temporären Kunstprojekten im öffentlichen Raum wie etwa "Erlauf erinnert sich" (2000, 2002) umgesetzt.

    Anlässlich der Eröffnung des Museums ERLAUF ERINNERT 2015 thematisierte die Künstlerin Tatiana Lecomte das Leben der aus Erlauf bzw. Pöchlarn vertriebenen Ernst Brod und Frank Schanzer. Aus ihren Recherchen ging das Buch Then Hitler invaded Austria. Vertreibung in die Sehnsucht hervor, das sie als vergängliches Ausstellungsobjekt für das Museum installierte. Die gesamte Buchauflage wurde als Stapel in der Ausstellung positioniert und die Besucher_innen aufgefordert, sich ein Exemplar und somit auch ein "Stück Erinnerung" mit nach Hause zu nehmen. Der sich dadurch ständig wandelnde Bücherstapel diente gleichermaßen als dynamische, interaktive Skulptur wie als Mahnmal gegen das Vergessen.

    Matthäus Maier

     

     

  3. Herausgeberin
    Tatiana Lecomte im Auftrag des Landes Niederösterreich,
    Abteilung Kunst und Kultur, Kunst im öffentlichen Raum

    Gestaltung
    Büro Ferkl

    Text
    Andrea Grill

    Lektorat
    Daniela Billner

    Übersetzung
    Donna Stonecipher für die Gedichte von Andrea Grill
    Lotte Lyon (Deutsch), Nick Somers (Englisch)

    Bildbearbeitung
    C.E.I.S.1 & [RIMAGE GENGI]2

    Format
    21 x 15 cm

    Druckerei
    Grasl FairPrint

    Auflage
    1.500